Sunday, 6 July 2014

Photos: Jade and the cast of Porgy and Bess at rehearsals

By George Gershwin, DuBose and Dorothy Heyward, and Ira Gershwin
Book Adapted by Suzan-Lori Parks Musical Score Adapted by Diedre L. Murray
One of these mornings you’re gonna rise up singing,
Then you’ll spread your wings and you’ll take to the sky
A powerful story of love and betrayal, Porgy and Bess is celebrated as a landmark piece of American theatre.

Porgy, a crippled beggar, is devoted to taming wild Bess and saving her from a life of ruin. Yet new beginnings give way to temptation as Bess is haunted by the demons of her past.
Directed by Timothy Sheader, this musical masterpiece includes ‘I Got Plenty of Nothing’‘It Ain’t Necessarily So’‘I Loves You Porgy’ and the poignantly beautiful ‘Summertime’, an icon of the Great American Songbook.
Drawing on talent from both sides of the Atlantic Rufus Bonds Jr and Nicola Hughes take the title roles. Rufus received a Drama Desk nomination for the original US production of Parade, and Nicola revisits the role of Bess following her Olivier Award nominated performance in Trevor Nunn’s 2006 production. Phillip Boykin reprises the role of Crown for which he received Tony, Drama Desk and Outer Critics Circle nominations for the 2012 Broadway production. Double Olivier Award winner Sharon D Clarke (Ghost / We Will Rock You) also joins the cast as Mariah.
Rufus Bonds Jr, Phillip Boykin and Cedric Neal are appearing with the permission of UK Equity, incorporating the Variety Artistes’ Federation, pursuant to an exchange program between American Equity and UK Equity.



  • Ensemble – David Albury
  • Porgy – Rufus Bonds Jr
  • Crown – Phillip Boykin
  • Ensemble – Angela Caesar
  • Mariah – Sharon D Clarke
  • Clara – Jade Ewen
  • Detective – Alex Giannini
  • Policeman – Owain Gwynn
  • Bess – Nicola Hughes
  • Ensemble – Tyrone Huntley
  • Ensemble – George Ikediashi
  • Ensemble – Claudia Kariuki
  • Ensemble – Arthur Kyeyune
  • Ensemble – Oliver Lidert
  • Jake – Leon Lopez
  • Ensemble – Jay Marsh
  • Ensemble – Tania Mathurin
  • Sportin' Life – Cedric Neal
  • Ensemble – Ellen O'Grady
  • Serena – Golda Rosheuvel
  • Ensemble – Yemie Sonuga
  • Robbins – Marvin Springer

No comments:

Post a Comment