Friday, 3 June 2011

Sugababes' new single 'Freedom': First listen (Digital Spy-The Sound Blog))

Thanks to @stewartee  for the heads up. This is a very informative review From Robert Copsey from Digital Spy. A lot of detail and is making me even more desperate to hear the full length version ~JEF

Sugababes' new single 'Freedom': First listen

Friday, June 3 2011, 16:53 BST
By Robert Copsey, Music Reporter
© Rex Features / David Fisher
For those not in the pop know, the Sugababes are on the cusp of releasing their new single, called 'Freedom'. After teasing us with a preview of the track earlier this week, we sat down with the mastermind behind the band, Mark Hargreaves, to listen to the track a full two times over, and at a more than respectable volume. Here are some of the notes we made:

  • The track clocks in at 3 minutes at 22 seconds, and was produced by The Invisible Men, who helmed Jessie J's 'Do It Like a Dude'.

  • The first verse is divvied up between Jade and Amelle. "I like the lights when they hit your face," Jade sings on the intro over a dark 'n' stormy mid-tempo melody.

  • "So raise your hand/ One fist in the air/ For freedom/ For being alive/ Not having a care/ For freedom," they chant on the anthemic, lighters-in-the-air pre-chorus - which, incidentally, we thought was the actual chorus on first listen.

  • The real chorus immediately follows, where alongside a stew of sledgehammering beats and thick basslines they belt: "'Cause tonight is the night that we break the speed of light/ So stand up, come alive/ Liberate yourself 'cause freedom starts tonight," all in wonderfully harmonised fashion.

  • Heidi takes the reins on the second verse. "I love the night/ The way it covers us/ You're acting shy/ But you're curious," she purrs.

  • When the second pre-chorus/chorus kicks in you'll realise that you have already learnt the words.

  • A dubsteppy middle eight breakdown follows, which you will have already heard from the Nokia ad. While nothing can replace Heidi's classic middle eights from yesteryear, it's a head-spinning moment that forces you to sit up and take notice.

  • Jade shouts "Put your hands in the air!" before the final chorus plays out, which features her most impressive ad-libbing to date.

  • By marrying a live band sound with au-courant wobbly basslines, the Sugababes have neatly side-stepped the trend-following sound of last year's Sweet 7 and have instead played to their strengths. Pinning down the Sugababes' sound has always proved a pointless exercise, but the common threads that run throughout the band's career - impressive vocals, intriguing production and slick harmonies - can all be found on 'Freedom'.

    Listen to a preview of 'Freedom' below:

    Single Review: Sugababes "Freedom" by

    A Really wonderful Review by ~ JEF

    Single Review: Sugababes "Freedom"

    It's safe to argue that Sugababes are a true British girl pop institution. The group has not only delivered many memorable pop hits over the last 12 years but Sugababes has also been a platform for great vocal talent to launch solo careers from.
    As a result of the trio's personnel changes and the changing taste in pop, the group has shown different musical identities over the years - from the edgy "Freak Like Me" (2002) to the empowering "Ugly" (2005), and from the glossy "About You Know" (2007) to the frolicky "Get Sexy" (2009).
    But let's not dwell too much on the past and look forward. The group of Heidi Range, Amelle Berrabah and Jade Ewen has been working feverishly in the studio to lay down new tracks for a comeback record with the intent to recapture the Sugababes essence.
    With the help of talented production team The Invisble Men (who created Jessie J's bareknuckle "Do It Like A Dude" among others), Sugababes found inspiration in the edgy and melodic vocal pop that made the group such a smash act in the first place. The first result of their work is the new single "Freedom" that leaked out in a Nokia viral video that hit YouTube earlier this week.
    Before I continue, let me note that I heard the single in its entirety from beginning to end. Not just the clip that appears in the Nokia video and which, quite frankly, doesn't do the full song much justice.

    Serving up tight vocal harmonies and a distinct dubsteppy edge, "Freedom" is a potent and contemporary hit tune that echoes Sugababes' original pop glory. What's most striking about this ambitious come-back tune is the crunchy combo of gritty verses and a shiny, sunburst chorus that pop aficionados will salivate over.
    "Freedom" has an uplifting, joyous quality that is too irrisisteble to be denied. The ladies cheer, "Tonight is the night that we break the speed of light. So stand up, come alive, liberate yourself 'cause freedom starts tonight. Stand up!"
    With a fresh new production team and an energized new line up, Sugababes are in tip top share to revive their heydays and capture the pop charts all over again.

    Sugababes premiere new single in Nokia viral ad (Music Week)



    Sugababes premiere new single in Nokia viral ad

    10:19 | Thursday June 2, 2011

    The Sugababes have released their hotly anticipated comeback single Freedom in a viral video for the new Nokia Pink N8 Smartphone.

    The newly released advert, which features a brief snippet of the new track, acts as a pop promo with the three singers turned into stop motion animated plastic dolls.

    The short film sees the group performing a dance routine complete with a pink laser show, wind machines and the plastic figurines sporting Nokia tattoos.

    An accompanying behind the scenes video shows how the various stop motion effects were achieved.

    In addition to supplying the video’s music sync the Sugababes will also support the release of the new handset by running a competition on their website to win the Nokia Pink N8.

    The group – under a previous line up – has partnered with Nokia before, performing at major New Year’s Eve celebrations and the mobile manufacturer’s Nokia Green Room music TV broadcast.

    News from the world of brands and music by FRUKT Communications. The leading music, entertainment and lifestyle marketing agency. For more information see, or to contact our editor email